World Rugby Has Its Say On The Courtney Lawes Offside Decision

The right call.

World Rugby has said the decision to refer to the TMO during England’s clash with the All Blacks for Sam Underhill’s disallowed try was the correct decision and they stand by it.

Underhill’s effort was disallowed after the TMO intervened and ruled that Courtney Lawes was marginally offside ahead of his charge down on scrumhalf TJ Perenara.

The GUINNESS Rugby Hotel is back! Win a VIP overnight stay for two in the exclusive GUINNESS Rugby Hotel in Glasgow's Celtic Park for the GUINNESS PRO14 Final.

But under the new TMO directives that were introduced this month responsibility is supposed to with the referee for on-field decisions, unless their is “compelling evidence.”

“Try-scoring should be an on-field decision with the referee being responsible but the team of four [officials] can all contribute.”

It can be argued that there was no “compelling evidence” and there should not have been a TMO check to begin with, especially considering the referee probably had a better angle to see Lawes on the pitch.

But World Rugby is adamant is was the right call and that referee Jérôme Garcès did not contravene its new TMO law trial, pointing out that the ball is not out until Perenara lifts it, rather than when the he touches it as a lot of people have been saying.

[The Guardian]