World Rugby Respond To Controversial All Blacks Hit In France Game
Latest posts by Will Matthews (see all)
- Rassie Erasmus hits back following Ian Foster comments on Ireland vs Springboks - October 1, 2023
- Ireland confirm remarkable update on prop Cian Healy - September 30, 2023
- All Blacks boss Ian Foster makes bizarre Ireland vs Springboks comments - September 30, 2023
All Blacks prop Ofa Tu’ungafasi and flanker Sam Cane have escaped punishment following their controversial ‘double hit’ on France back Remy Grosso that left him with a double fracture to the skull.
Having reviewed all available camera angles, the Citing Commissioner considered Tu’ungafasi to have executed a dangerous tackle “just short of” red card level (in accordance with World Rugby Regulation 17), which caused injury to France wing Grosso.
Cane’s hit was adjudged to have been worthy of no more than a penalty.
“In considering the mechanics of the incident, the Citing Commissioner determined that there were mitigating factors which prevented the conduct from reaching the red card level in his opinion.” read a World Rugby statement.
These included Grosso’s body position lowering as he went into contact with Cane, who effected the tackle initially, immediately before Tu’ungafasi joined a dynamic tackle situation,”
“As a result, the independent Citing Commissioner issued a Citing Commissioner Warning – issued for acts of foul play that are viewed by the Citing Commissioner to come close to but do not warrant the player receiving a red card.
“In respect of the tackle by Cane, the Citing Commissioner agreed with the on-field action taken by the referee to issue a penalty against him, and therefore no further action was warranted in relation to Cane.”