Watch: The Exeter Chiefs Certainly Enjoyed Their Celebrations On The Bus Home

“We won the Prem!”

Exeter Chiefs completed their incredible seven-year journey yesterday afternoon with an extra-time win over Wasps to be crowned 2017 Aviva Premiership champions.

It caps off an incredible journey that saw the Chiefs promoted in 2010 before heartbreak in the final this time last year. Gareth Steenson was the hero in 2010 and again yesterday as he kicked a penalty to send the game into extra time in the final minutes before slotting the winner with three minutes to play.

The title-winning three points came after the Devon club were denied a try by the television match official moments earlier. It was the first Premiership final to have gone to extra time since 2014, when Northampton beat Saracens in dramatic contest, and the 79,657 fans at Twickenham were braced for penalty kicks before Wasps were penalised at the scrum.

Just 20 years ago Exeter were winning promotion from the third tier of English rugby, having previously played even further down the pyramid and they certainly enjoyed the celebrations on the bus home.

Follow Me