WATCH: London Irish Forced To Kick By Referee After Massive Water Blunder
Latest posts by Will Matthews (see all)
- South African fans blasted for treatment of Owen Farrell in Champions Cup - December 10, 2023
- Joe Marler on why Owen Farrell has stepped away from England - December 6, 2023
- France star scores one of the most bizarre tries you will ever see in rugby - December 5, 2023
London Irish aren’t going down without a fight, after securing a huge 22-9 win over relegation rivals Worcester over the weekend.
The result however, came with a bit of an embarrassing error during the game, as a water carried brought a tee onto the field, forcing Irish’s Greig Tonk to kick for goal.
Tonk had no intention of going for the points, but clearly there was a bit of a miscommunication along the way. The law states that ‘intention to kick is signaled by the arrival of the kicking tee.’
Therefore once the tee was brought on, Tonk had no choice but to kick, whether he wanted to or not.
Despite Tonk’s best efforts to get the carrier to hide the tee, the referee spotted it and he was forced to kick.
… And he missed!
😎 Water carrier comes on with tee under bib
👀 Irish decide against kicking
😏 Water carrier tries to sneak it off
🙈 Ref spots it
🙃 Irish miss kick
— Rugby on BT Sport (@btsportrugby) February 25, 2018