Wales Team Named For Six Nations Opener With France


Head coach Warren Gatland has named his Wales team for Friday’s huge Six Nations opener with France at the Stade de France in Paris.

Tomos Williams has been named at scrumhalf with Gareth Davies on the bench, while Gareth Anscombe has been handed the ten jersey with Dan Biggar offering cover from the bench. Hadleigh Parkes and Jonathan Davies partner in midfield, with Liam Williams, George North and Josh Adams forming a lethal back-three.

In the pack Ross Moriarty starts at eight, with Josh Navidi and Justin Tipuric at 6 and 7 respectively.

Wales: Liam Williams; George North, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Josh Adams; Gareth Anscombe, Tomos Williams; Rob Evans, Ken Owens, Tomas Francis; Adam Beard, Alun Wyn Jones; Josh Navidi, Justin Tipuric, Ross Moriarty.

Replacements: Elliot Dee, Wyn Jones, Samson Lee, Cory Hill, Aaron Wainwright, Gareth Davies, Dan Biggar, Owen Watkin.

France: Maxime Medard; Damian Penaud, Wesley Fofana, Romain Ntamack, Yohann Huget; Camille Lopez, Morgan Parra; Jefferson Poirot, Guilhem Guirado, Uini Atonio; Sébastien Vahaamahina, Paul Willemse, Wenceslas Lauret, Arthur Itturia, Louis Picamoles.

Replacements: Julien Marchand, Dany Priso, Demba Bamba, Felix Lambey, Gregory Alldritt, Baptiste Serin, Gael Fickou, Geoffrey Doumayrou.

Follow Me