Wales Squad Named For June Tests Against Samoa & Tonga

Jamie Roberts will lead a 32-man Wales squad containing 13 uncapped players on their summer tour.

The Harlequins centre has been capped 91 times but dropped out of first-choice favour with Wales in 2016-17. They face Tonga in Auckland on 16 June and Samoa in Apia a week later.

Wales will be missing 12 leading players – including captain Alun Wyn Jones – who will tour with the British and Irish Lions in New Zealand. With Warren Gatland as Lions boss and Rob Howley an assistant, regular forwards coach Robin McBryde will be in charge of Wales for the two Tests.

Wales will be without captain Alun Wyn Jones

On being named captain Roberts said:

“I’m immensely honoured to be named captain of Wales for this year’s summer tour.
“It’s a proud moment for myself, but more importantly my family and a position of responsibility that I will take huge pride in.
“I’m excited for the new players in the squad as they get the chance to test themselves at this level, and also for the more established players who now have a chance to become leaders in this team.”

Wales will face Tonga at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday, 16 June as part of a double-header also featuring New Zealand. The tourists will face Tonga at 06:30 BST, with the All Blacks taking on Samoa at 09:00 at the same venue.

They take on Samoa a week later on Friday, 23 June.

Wales 2017 summer tour squad

Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), James King (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys), Thomas Young (Wasps).

Backs: Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Steff Evans (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (captain, Harlequins), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues).

Follow Me