Wales Name Five Uncapped Players In 35-Man Squad To Face Warren Gatland’s Barbarians


Wales head coach Wayne Pivac has named a 35-man squad to prepare for his first fixture in charge against the Barbarians at Principality Stadium on November 30.

Wales will face the Baa-Baas as part of a double-header with Wales Women and Pivac has selected a squad that includes 22 players who featured for Wales in the 2019 Rugby World Cup and five uncapped players.

The game isn’t a capped international but Taine Basham, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Willis Halaholo, Ashton Hewitt and Johnny McNicholl will all be hoping to pull on the red national jersey for the first time a week on Saturday.

On announcing his first Wales squad, Pivac said:

“It is great to get the squad announced and get the ball rolling on our first meet-up and first fixture next week.

“This Barbarians game is a great chance for us as a new squad and management to get together and to set the scene for what we are looking to do. Having this opportunity ahead of tournament rugby in the Six Nations is ideal for us.

“It is also a great chance for some players to really put their hand up and show what they are about and take to the field in front of a big crowd at home.

“We will be bringing a few additional players in to train with the squad during the week, just to see them in the environment and will also be bringing some of the injured players in for some of the scene-setting style sessions.”

Saturday, November 30:
11.45 am Wales Women v Barbarians
14.45 pm Wales Men v Barbarians

Wales squad for Barbarians

Elliot Dee (Dragons) (29 Caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (9 Caps)
Ken Owens (Scarlets) (73 Caps)
Rob Evans (Scarlets) (36 Caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (22 Caps)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (35 Caps)
Leon Brown (Dragons) (6 Caps)
Samson Lee (Scarlets) (41 Caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (22 Caps)
Jake Ball (Scarlets) (42 Caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys) (20 Caps)
Bradley Davies (Ospreys) (66 Caps)
Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues) (7 Caps)
Taine Basham (Dragons) (Uncapped)
Ollie Griffiths (Dragons) (1 Cap)
Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues) (Uncapped)
Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (41 Caps)
Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (26 Caps)
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (72 Caps)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (18 Caps)

Aled Davies (Ospreys) (20 Caps)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (51 Caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (16 Caps)
Sam Davies (Dragons) (8 Caps)
Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) (3 Caps)
Willis Halaholo (Cardiff Blues) (Uncapped)
Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (25 Caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (22 Caps)
Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues) (2 Caps)
Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (21 Caps)
Steff Evans (Scarlets) (13 Caps)
Ashton Hewitt (Dragons) (Uncapped)
Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets) (Uncapped)
Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues) (22 Caps)
Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (85 Caps)

Follow Me