Wales Captain Alun Wyn Jones Reveals Teammates Overruled Him For Crucial Decision
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- Brian O’Driscoll On Why He Couldn’t Wait To Get Out Of Rugby “Quick Enough” - September 8, 2022
- Champions Cup Last 16 Extra Time Protocol & Quarter-Final Permutations - April 15, 2022
- Legendary Ireland International Announces His Retirement Fro Rugby - April 8, 2022
This is a strange one.
Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones wanted to kick for goal at a crucial stage in todays’ 29-13 defeat by Scotland, but says his kickers said “no.”
Rob Howley’s men opted to kick for the corner when trailing 16-13 in the 51st minute. The penalty was awarded on the Scotland 22-metre line close to the touchline, so would normally be considered well within the range of place-kickers Leigh Halfpenny and Biggar.
They were penalised at the ensuing line-out as Scotland recorded their first win over Wales since 2007.
“The kickers didn’t want to so we just went for the corner,” said Jones, who added he “would have liked to” have taken the points.”
“We didn’t do it, did we?” he added.
“And I got done for blocking at the back of the lift then, but, yeah, I would have liked to have gone for the three (points).”
The incident was more remarkable as Irish referee John Lacey could be heard saying a kick at goal had been indicated while Wales outhalfDan Biggar could be heard asking Jones if he could kick for the corner.
What do you think? Was Jones overrule or did his kickers just not back themselves?