Ulster & Toulouse Name Teams For Champions Cup Quarter Final Clash

Europe awaits.

The Ulster coaching group has named the match-day squad for Sunday’s Heineken Champions Cup Quarter-Final versus Toulouse.

Scrumhalf, John Cooney returns to the starting line-up and is one of four changes to the side that played in the Guinness PRO14 Final versus Leinster last week.

Cooney will be paired with Billy Burns at outhalf, while the rest of the starting backline remains unchanged. Michael Lowry is named at fullback, with Jacob Stockdale and Rob Lyttle on the wings. Midfield duo, Stuart McCloskey and James Hume, will once again start.

In the front row, Jack McGrath comes in at loosehead to join Rob Herring at hooker and Tom O’Toole at tighthead prop. Iain Henderson will lead the side and is joined by Alan O’Connor in the second row.

Sean Reidy makes a positional switch to blindside, while Jordi Murphy and Nick Timoney come into the starting XV at openside and number eight.

View this post on Instagram

Episode 5 has arrived. 🎧 – Jason and Jamie look back on the PRO14 final & look ahead to this weekend's Champions Cup quarter-final. 🎙 – The lads also have a go at picking their current Ireland XVs with some huge decisions to make. 🤔☘️ – Iain Henderson on getting back to fitness when Ulster need him and the challenge Toulouse will pose this weekend. 🔴⚪️ – Robin McBryde on1 Leinster's problems in the lineout and how much better they will need to be against Saracens. 🏉 – Hugo Keenan on what Leinster still need to prove. 👀 – Dan McFarland on parking the bus and how difficult it can be to get over a big defeat. 😢 And lots more. Available on Spotify, Apple Podcasts and more.

A post shared by RugbyLAD 🏉 (@rugbylad7) on

Dan McFarland has again gone for a 6-2 split on the bench. John Andrew, Eric O’Sullivan, Marty Moore, Sam Carter, Kieran Treadwell and Matthew Rea will provide forward options, while Alby Mathewson and Matt Faddes offer cover for the backs.


15. Thomas Ramos, 14. Yoann Huget, 13. Sofiane Guitoune, 12. Pita Ahki, 11. Cheslin Kolbe, 10. Romain Ntamack, 9. Antoine Dupont, 1. Cyril Baille, 2. Peato Mauvaka, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 4. Rory Arnold, 5. Joe Tekori, 6. Jerome Kaino (c), 7. Francois Cros, 8. Selevasio Tolofua.

16. Julien Marchand, 17. Rodrigue Neti, 18. Dorian Aldegheri, 19. Emmanuel Meafou, 20. Alban Placines, 21. Zack Holmes, 22. Alexi Bales, 23. Matthis Lebel,

Ulster Rugby

15. Michael Lowry, 14. Rob Lyttle, 13. James Hume, 12. Stuart McCloskey, 11. Jacob Stockdale, 10. Billy Burns, 9. John Cooney, 1. Jack McGrath, 2. Rob Herring, 3. Tom O’Toole, 4. Alan O’Connor, 5. Iain Henderson (c), 6. Sean Reidy, 7. Jordi Murphy, 8. Nick Timoney.

16. John Andrew, 17. Eric O’Sullivan, 18. Marty Moore, 19. Sam Carter, 20. Kieran Treadwell, 21. Alby Mathewson, 22. Matt Faddes, 23. Matt Rea,

Follow Me