Ulster Team Named For Inter-Provincial Clash With Connacht

Derby weekend.

Chris Henry returns to captain Ulster this weekend in devastating back-row alongside British & Irish Lions star Iain Henderson and South African Jean Deysel.

John Cooney and Christian Lealiifano are retained as the half backs and will steer an all-international backline. Stuart McCloskey is back in midfield alongside Luke Marshall, with Jacob Stockdale and Tommy Bowe selected on the wings and Charles Piutau at fullback.

John Andrew, Andy Warwick and Rodney Ah You will provide front row cover, while Robbie Diack and Sean Reidy will provide Les Kiss with further forward options from the bench.

Paul Marshall, Pete Nelson and Louis Ludik are the backline replacements.

Ulster Rugby team to play Connacht (Friday 6th October, Kingspan Stadium, 7.35pm):

(1-8): K McCall, R Herring, W Herbst, A O’Connor, K Treadwell, I Henderson, C Henry (captain), J Deysel;
(9-15): J Cooney, C Lealiifano, J Stockdale, S McCloskey, L Marshall, T Bowe, C Piutau;

Replacements (16-23): J Andrew, A Warwick, R Ah You, R Diack, S Reidy, P Marshall, P Nelson, L Ludik.

Follow Me