Ulster Rugby announce nine senior players will depart the northern province


Ulster Rugby have announced that no less than nine senior players will depart the northern province at the end of the 2023/24 season.

At this Saturday’s Interpro fixture versus Leinster the club will thank the nine players, with a combined 420 caps of service, departing the province at the end of this season.

On the players departing the province, Bryn Cunningham, Head of Rugby Operations and Recruitment, said:

“On behalf of everyone at Ulster Rugby, I would like to say thank-you to the players that will be leaving the club at the end of the season.

“Despite all being at various stages of their careers, with some having spent many years at the club and others at the start of their professional rugby, it is important to acknowledge the positive impact that each individual has made on the club, both on and off the pitch and in terms of their professionalism day in, day out.

“I would, however, like to give special mention to Lukey having been a proud servant of Ulster Rugby for the past fifteen years. He epitomises what it is to be one of the Ulster men, after starting out with Ballymena RFC and going on to represent his club, country and family at the highest level of the game. He is the template in terms of character for what pathway players should aspire to be.

“We look forward to joining with supporters on Saturday night to mark the contribution of this group and wish them the best for the future.”

Departing Ulster players

Luke Marshall (166 – retired)

Billy Burns (111)

Greg Jones (44)

Will Addison (41)

Angus Curtis (25 – retired)

Steven Kitshoff (14)

Dave Ewers (14)

James French (4)

Shea O’Brien (1)

Follow Me