Ulster & Barbarians Name Teams For Ravenhill Showdown

Ulster Rugby and the Barbarians have named their match-day squad for Thursday’s showdown between the sides at Kingspan Stadium.

Roger Wilson and Ruan Pienaar will share the Ulster captaincy in what will be their final appearances for the Province. There are three changes to the pack that helped Les Kiss’ men beat Leinster in the last game of the regular season as Pete Browne, Mattie Rea and Clive Ross come in for Kieran Treadwell, Robbie Diack and Sean Reidy.

The backline includes Ireland internationals Stuart McCloskey and Craig Gilroy, while flyhalf Brett Herron will partner Pienaar at half back and Pete Nelson will start at fullback. Andrew Trimble has been ruled out of with a troublesome knee injury.

Ulster Team:

(15-9): Peter Nelson, Mark Keane, Callum Patterson, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy, Brett Herron, Ruan Pienaar (Joint Captain);
(1-8): Andy Warwick, Rob Herring, Rodney Ah You, Alan O’Connor, Peter Browne, Matthew Rea, Clive Ross, Roger Wilson (Joint Captain).

Replacements (16-24): John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Ross Kane, Stephen Mulholland, Chris Henry, Paul Marshall, Dave Shanahan, Callum Smith, Ricky Lutton.

On the Barbarians side, Ireland’s Ian Madigan and Mike Ross will both start among a powerful looking team named by head coach Vern Cotter. 

Cotter also fields what may be the biggest pack in the club’s 127-year history, weighing in at a combined 945kg.

Racing’s New Zealand flanker Chris Masoe is a late addition after a calf injury prevented Victor Vito from joining the squad in Belfast.

Barbarians Team:

(15-9): Alex Goode (Saracens & England), David Smith (Castres), Waisea Nayacalevu (Stade Francais & Fiji), Robbie Fruean (Bath Rugby), Horacio Agulla (Castres & Argentina), Ian Madigan (Bordeaux Begles & Ireland), Rory Kockott (Castres & France);
(1-8): Chris King (Pau), Corey Flynn (Star RFC & New Zealand), Mike Ross (Leinster & Ireland), Paul Willemse (Montpellier), Patricio Albacete (Toulouse & Argentina), Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse & France, captain), Facundo Isa (Lyon & Argentina).

Replacements (16-23): Richard Hibbard (Gloucester & Wales), Vincent Pelo (La Rochelle & France), Census Johnston (Toulouse & Samoa), Jeremy Thrush (Gloucester & New Zealand), Chris Masoe (Racing Metro & New Zealand), Kahn Fotuali’i (Bath Rugby & Samoa), Brock James (La Rochelle), Jean-Marcellin Buttin (Bordeaux-Begles & France).

[Ulster Rugby]

Follow Me