Two More Teams Set To Join The PRO14 Next Season

PRO16 anyone?

South Africa Rugby Union (SARU) President Mark Alexander has revealed South Africa are set to enter two more teams in the Guinness PRO14 in time for next season.

Speaking to Rugby365, Alexander says they are in advanced negotiations with PRO14 bosses to have the franchises entered in time for the new season, but it won’t be any of their established Super Rugby franchises.

Reports suggest the Lions, Stormers, Blue Bulls and Sharks will remain in Super Rugby, with the SARU’s two newest franchises – the Griquas and the Pumas set to join the PRO14.

“We are excited about introducing another two teams in the north,” Alexander said.

“We will have four [teams] in the north and four in the south.”

He also confirmed that the formal announcement of the identity of the two  franchises will be made “at the beginning of 2019”.

Check out his interview in full here.


Follow Me