There’s One Seriously Notable Problem With Eddie Jones’ England Squad


Eddie Jones today named his 2017 Six Nations squad.

Jones has named three uncapped players in a squad made up of 20 forwards and 14 backs. Back-row forward Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers) is included alongside prop Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby) and back Alex Lozowski (Saracens)

The 34-man squad will train in Portugal between 22-27 January before assembling at Pennyhill Park to prepare for their opening match against France at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday 4 February.

One man who has been included is misfit Dylan Hartley, but is he the England captain? When quizzed about it today Jones had this to say:

“Captaincy, like the jersey, is not a permanent position. Nothing is permanent… We’re not a club team.”

Jones refused to give an answer as to whether or not Hartley will remain as his captain, stating Hartley is making good progress and moving in the right direction in terms of game readiness for the opening round clash with France.

Interestingly there is no (c) next to Hartley’s name in the squad announcement.

Follow Me