There’s A Hugely Notable Omission From Leinster’s List Of Contract Renewals


Leinster today revealed some huge news with the confirmation that both Robbie Henshaw and former Munster lock Ian Nagle will be joining the province next season.

If those two signing weren’t enough for Leinster fans the province also released a full list of players who have signed contract renewals for next season. While this can only be seen as good news despite the loss of both Ben Te’o and Ian Madigan next season there are three notable absentees with one of those being a key concern.

Here’s the list in full:

Michael Bent
Adam Byrne
Tom Daly
Peter Dooley
Tadhg Furlong
Dave Kearney
Cathal Marsh
Mike McCarthy
Jack McGrath
Ross Molony
Isa Nacewa
Sean O’Brien
Garry Ringrose
Mike Ross
Rhys Ruddock
James Tracy
Josh van der Flier

Scrumhalves Eoin Reddan and Isaac Boss are not listed but one, if not both are expected to move on at the end of the season due to their age but a certain Irish international is also not listed who’s contract expires at the end of the season- Cian Healy.


The prop has once again this season undergone a torrid time with injuries and has seemingly been ousted from his position from both club and country by Jack McGrath. No word on whether the prop is stalling negotiations or the possibility that perhaps Leinster have decided against offering him a new deal. It wouldn’t seem entirely strange considering his history of injuries and high wage. Perhaps Leinster don’t quite feel keeping him around would be a smart move financially especially when they have someone of Jack McGrath’s quality.

Healy however will no doubt be a high commodity for other clubs should he not extend his deal and perhaps might be better off taking a big money move elsewhere given his injury problems and the fact that he is now second choice to McGrath.

Follow Me