There’s A Huge Notable Inclusion In Leinster’s Team For This Weekend


Look who’s back.

Leinster Rugby Head Coach Leo Cullen has announced his match day 23 to take on Zebre in the Guinness PRO12 tomorrow evening in the RDS and has included Irish playmaker Johnny Sexton in his starting line-up.

The talented outhalf hasn’t played since limping off against New Zealand at the Aviva last month and comes back into the side at ten as captain against Italian side Zebre in the crucial PRO12 clash.


There are seven changes in total from the team that accounted for Ulster in Round 12 last weekend as Leinster finished out the calendar year unbeaten in the RDS Arena.

In the backs, three internationals return with Zane Kirchner taking up his place at full back, as Adam Byrne and Rory O’Loughlin continue on the wings. The second change sees Robbie Henshaw come in to the number 13 jersey to partner Garry Ringrose in the centre.


The final change is in the half backs with Johnny Sexton captaining the side from number 10 and partnering Luke McGrath who continues at scrumhalf. In the pack, Cian Healy and James Tracy start alongside Michael Bent who will win his 75th cap for the province.

Devin Toner and Hayden Triggs are again selected as the second row combination but there are two final additions in the back row.

Dan Leavy starts at blindside flanker, with Jack Conan coming in at the base of the scrum in the number eight jersey. Sean O’Brien starts again this week but with Leavy starting at six, O’Brien swaps across and fills the number seven jersey for the final Guinness PRO12 game before attention turns to the Champions Cup.

LEINSTER: (Leinster caps in brackets)

15. Zane Kirchner (77)
14. Adam Byrne (11)
13. Garry Ringrose (32)
12. Robbie Henshaw (6)
11. Rory O’Loughlin (11)
10. Johnny Sexton CAPTAIN (130)
9. Luke McGrath (62)
1. Cian Healy (164)
2. James Tracy (30)
3. Michael Bent (74)
4. Devin Toner (190)
5. Hayden Triggs (21)
6. Dan Leavy (26)
7. Sean O’Brien (108)
8. Jack Conan (39)

16. Sean Cronin (124)
17. Jack McGrath (104)
18. Tadhg Furlong (59)
19. Rhys Ruddock (122)
20. Jamie Heaslip (226)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (15)
22. Ross Byrne (11)
23. Noel Reid (73)

Follow Me