The Verdict From Fraser Brown’s Disciplinary Hearing Is In

Scotland hooker Fraser Brown has avoided further punishment after being cited for a dangerous tackle on England’s Elliot Daly.

Brown was sin-binned for his tip tackle on England wing Daly just 90 seconds into Scotland’s defeat at Twickenham. French referee Mathieu Raynal opted to show Brown a yellow card after consultation with Television Match Official (TMO) Ben Skeen, who ruled Daly landed on his back as opposed to his head.

An independent disciplinary committee has ruled Brown the yellow card was sufficient and cleared him to play in Scotland’s final Six Nations game against Italy in Edinburgh on Saturday.

In a statement, the Six Nations organisers explained their decision.

“The player [Brown] accepted that he had committed an act of foul play but argued that it had not warranted a red card.
“The disciplinary committee, chaired by Jean-Philippe Lachaume (France), alongside Rhian Williams (Wales) and David Martin (Ireland), having reviewed footage of the incident and all other evidence, as well as hearing submissions and testimony from the player and his representatives, considered the tackle to have been dangerous, and therefore contrary to Law 10.4(e).
“The disciplinary committee, however, found that the act of foul play would have not have warranted a red card, and so the citing complaint was not upheld and no sanction was imposed.
“The player is therefore able to resume playing immediately.”

Scotland skipper John Barclay believes the three-man panel made the right decision.

“These decisions are very easy to make when you’ve got however many frames a second,” he said. “Fraser doesn’t have that opportunity – he’s got to make a split-second decision.
“But he’s not a dirty player, he would never go out to hurt an opponent. With the laws as they are to protect players, though, he is disappointed in himself.”

Follow Me