The Telegraph Release Their Updated 37-Man British & Irish Lions Squad


The Lions tour of New Zealand is still several months away but that hasn’t stopped us from looking forward to it already.

Coming off the back of a massive series win over Australia, absolutely smashing the Wallabies in the final test, the Lions face the daunting task of trying to take down the back to back world champions, New Zealand.

The 2017 tour includes the usual three test matches along with some huge midweek games against the likes of the Crusaders, the Chiefs and the Maori All Blacks. You can view the full schedule here.


A lot has changed in the last few weeks when you look at the potential make up of the squad. Ireland not too long ago according to many of the leading media outlets, were set have little influence. That all changed when they secured a memorable victory over the All Blacks in Chicago and took down Michael Cheika’s Wallabies.

The Telegraph have now picked their updated Lions squad following the last few weeks of international rugby. Interestingly they now believe 11 Irish men are on course to be picked next summer.


England lead the way with 12 players, Ireland are next with 11, Wales have nine and Scotland have five.

FRONT ROW: Jack McGrath (Ireland), Mako Vunipola (England), Cian Healy (Ireland), Dan Cole (England), Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), WP Nel (Scotland), Dylan Hartley (England), Rory Best (Ireland), Jamie George (England).

SECOND ROW: Alun Wyn-Jones (Wales), Maro Itoje (England), Devin Toner (Ireland), George Kruis (England), Jonny Gray (Scotland).

BACK ROW: Chris Robshaw (England), CJ Stander (Ireland), John Barclay (Scotland), Sam Warburton (Wales), Taulupe Faletau (Wales), Billy Vunipola (England), Jamie Heaslip (Ireland).

HALF BACK: Rhys Webb (Wales), Conor Murray (Ireland), Ben Youngs (England), Dan Biggar (Wales), Jonathan Sexton (Ireland), Owen Farrell (England).

CENTRE: Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), Huw Jones (Scotland), Jonathan Joseph (England), Jonathan Davies (Wales).

BACK THREE: George North (Wales), Liam Williams (Wales), Anthony Watson (England), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales), Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Rob Kearney (Ireland).

Follow Me