Team News, TV Details & Kick-Off Time For Ireland’s Six Nations Opener With Wales Today

Here we go.

Following yesterday’s thrilling opening day of action, Ireland open up their 2021 Six Nations account this afternoon against Wales at the Principality Stadium.

France laid a marker down in the early fixture with 50-10 win over Italy in Rome before Scotland shocked the world with an 11-6 win against England – their first win at Twickenham in 38 years.

The latter win has blown the championship wide open ahead of today’s fixture which promises to be an absolute cracker between two sides who have always shared some ‘dislike’ towards each other.

In terms of team news, Wales have handed Dan Lydiate a surprise start with the flanker set to make his first start for his country since November 2018. He’s joined by Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau in the back-row.

George North meanwhile will start in the centre in the absence of Jonathan Davies, while Alun Wyn Jones will captain the side. Youngster Louis Rees-Zammit starts on the right wing with Hallam Amos on the opposite wing and Leigh Halfpenny at fullback.


15. Leigh Halfpenny
14. Louis Rees-Zammit
13. George North
12. Johnny Williams
11. Hallam Amos
10. Dan Biggar
9. Tomos Williams

1. Wyn Jones
2. Ken Owens
3. Tomas Francis
4. Adam Beard
5. Alun Wyn Jones (captain)
6. Dan Lydiate
7. Justin Tipuric
8. Taulupe Faletau

16. Elliot Dee
17. Rhodri Jones
18. Leon Brown
19. Will Rowlands
20. Josh Navidi
21. Gareth Davies
22. Callum Sheedy
23. Nick Tompkins

Ireland meanwhile have also shuffled things around with James Lowe coming back into a back-three alongside Keith Earls and Huge Keenan, while Tadhg Beirne has been rewarded for his fine club form with a start at lock alongside James Ryan.

Elsewhere, Josh van der Flier starts at seven in a back-row alongside Munster duo Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander while Ireland also welcome back the likes of Tadhg Furlong, Dave Kilcoyne and Jordan Larmour, who are all on the replacements bench.


15. Hugo Keenan
14. Keith Earls
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton (captain)
9. Conor Murray

1. Cian Healy
2: Rob Herring
3: Andrew Porter
4: Tadhg Beirne
5: James Ryan
6: Peter O’Mahony
7: Josh Van Der Flier
8: CJ Stander

16. Ronan Kelleher
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Iain Henderson
20. Will Connors
21. Jamison-Gibson Park
22. Billy Burns
23. Jordan Larmour

Kick-off time and TV details.

Virgin Media One will present full coverage of today’s game. Coverage will start at 2pm with the game itself kicking off at 3pm. It will also be shown on BBC One with coverage starting at 2.30pm there.

Follow Me