Super Rugby Official Team & Player Of The Year Revealed

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor here at RugbyLAD and a proud Limerick man.
Jason Hennessy

McKenzie leads the way.

The official Super Rugby Team of the Year has been revealed and interestingly it doesn’t contain a single Crusaders player despite them lifting the title.

The likes of Leinster-bound James Lowe, All Blacks stars Ardie Savea and Beauden Barrett all make the team, while Damien McKenszie has been named Player of the Year.

House of Rugby is back with a brand new URC show – fronted by RugbyLAD founder Jason Hennessy and Ireland international Megan Williams. Follow and subscribe to it HERE.

The fact that there are no Crusaders players in the team perhaps typifies the cliché that the whole team is greater than the sum of its parts, with the Christchurch side boasting a team that works well as a unit rather than relying on standout performances of a few members to get them across the line.

The Super Rugby team of the season is made up from the top scorers in the Opta Index, based on their average per 80-minute tally, with only players who had accumulated at least 800 minutes eligible for selection.