Springboks name frightening team for Rugby World Cup opener with Scotland

Fully loaded.

Reigning world champions South Africa have named their team to face Scotland in the Rugby World Cup this weekend – and it’s a frightening selection.

11 players to retain their starting places from the team which recorded a record victory against New Zealand two weeks ago with scrumhalf Faf de Klerk set to earn his 50th cap for the Boks.

There is only one change in the Springbok starting pack at number eight, where Jasper Wiese takes over from Duane Vermeulen, who moves to the bench, while the changes in the backline see Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel unite in a midfield pairing, and Cheslin Kolbe returns as a left wing in place of Makazole Mapimpi.

Two players, utility back Canan Moodie and lock Jean Kleyn, were not considered for selection due to hamstring and knee niggles respectively.

Nienaber has opted for a six-two split in favour of the forwards on the replacements’ bench with Bongi Mbonambi (hooker), Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane (both props), RG Snyman (lock), Marco van Staden (flanker) and Vermeulen named as the impact forwards, while Grant Williams and Willie le Roux provide backline cover.

Springbok team to face Scotland

15 – Damian Willemse
14 – Kurt-Lee Arendse
13 – Jesse Kriel
12 – Damian de Allende
11 – Cheslin Kolbe
10 – Manie Libbok
9 – Faf de Klerk

8 – Jasper Wiese
7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit
6 – Siya Kolisi (c)
5 – Franco Mostert
4 – Eben Etzebeth
3 – Frans Malherbe
2 – Malcolm Marx
1 – Steven Kitshoff

16 – Bongi Mbonambi
17 – Ox Nche
18 – Trevor Nyakane
19 – RG Snyman
20 – Marco van Staden
21 – Duane Vermeulen
22 – Grant Williams
23 – Willie le Roux

Follow Me