Springboks Make Six Changes In Total For Second Test With The Lions

Second Test.

Springbok prop Steven Kitshoff will earn his 50th Test cap at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday in the second Test of the Castle Lager Lions Series, with Jasper Wiese named at No 8 in this crucial clash between South Africa and the British & Irish Lions.

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber has made three changes to his starting team and six in total to the matchday squad for the key encounter.

Two of these changes are in the front-row, where Kitshoff – who made his Test debut against Ireland in 2016 – will mark his career milestone next to Frans Malherbe (prop) and Bongi Mbonambi in a new-look combination for the hosts.

Ox Nché – who packed down with Trevor Nyakane (prop) and Mbonambi last weekend – was ruled out due to the neck niggle he picked up in the first Test, but fortunately for Nienaber, Mbonambi’s hamstring strain has recovered sufficiently for him to start the match.

The other change in the starting XV was at No 8, where Wiese earns his first Test start after making his debut off the replacements bench against Georgia earlier this month.

Nienaber opted for a six-two split on the bench, which sees Nyakane and Vincent Koch provide cover at prop, while Marco van Staden takes over from Rynhardt Elstadt as loose forward cover along with Kwagga Smith, while Herschel Jantjies and Damian Willemse will provide support in the backline.

South Africa (v British & Irish Lions)

15: Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz, 63 caps)
14: Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse, 15 caps)
13: Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks, 16 caps)
12: Damian de Allende (Munster, 48 caps)
11: Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks, 15 caps)
10: Handré Pollard (vice-captain, Montpellier, 50 caps)
9: Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, 31 caps)

1: Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers, 49 caps)
2: Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers, 38 caps)
3: Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers, 40 caps)
4: Eben Etzebeth (Toulon, 87 caps)
5: Franco Mostert (Honda Heat, 41 caps)
6: Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks, 52 caps) – captain
7: Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers, 57 caps)
8: Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)


16: Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears, 35 caps)
17: Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls, 44 caps)
18: Vincent Koch (Saracens, 21 caps)
19: Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks, 46 caps)
20: Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls, 3 caps)
21: Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo, 8 caps)
22: Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers, 12 caps)
23: Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers, 8 caps)

Follow Me