Six New Faces In Scotland Squad For Six Nations Clash With England


Head coach Gregor Townsend today named a revised Scotland squad for the Six Nations as the group reconvened ahead of this Saturday’s Round 3 Test against England at BT Murrayfield.

Harlequins wing Tim Visser and Gloucester centre Matt Scott are the only backs to be added to the squad, having last featured on the 2017 summer tour against Fiji and Australia respectively.

The incoming forward quartet include tighthead prop Willem Nel (who returns from the broken arm he sustained against Samoa in the Autumn Tests), uncapped Glasgow Warriors hooker James Malcolm, Sale Sharks back-row Josh Strauss and Glasgow Warriors lock Tim Swinson.

The new additions replace Saracens centre Duncan Taylor (head) and Toulouse lock Richie Gray (calf), who are yet to recover sufficiently to join the squad in camp, as well as Magnus Bradbury, Nathan Fowles, Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby) and D’arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), who drop out of the squad.

Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) and Neil Cochrane (Edinburgh Rugby) will remain with their clubs to complete the graduated return to play protocols after sustaining head injuries at the weekend.

Uncapped Edinburgh Rugby duo Charlie Shiel (scrumhalf) and Darcy Graham (fullback/wing) are also invited to train with the squad on Monday and Tuesday.

Follow Me