Six Nations Disciplinary Panel Rule On Joe Marler’s ‘Gypsy Boy’ Slur


England prop Joe Marler has not been punished or banned for calling Wales front-rower Samson Lee a ‘gypsy boy’ during last Saturday’s Six Nations showdown at Twickenham.

The decision comes hours after Marler was not handed any punishment for striking Rob Evans during the match.

A Six Nations statement read:

“Further to a comment made by Joe Marler to Samson Lee during the England v Wales match at Twickenham on Saturday 12th March, Six Nations Rugby have conducted a thorough investigation which has just concluded.

“Six Nations Rugby are aware of the seriousness of Mr. Marler’s comment and do not in anyway condone what was said.

“Six Nations Rugby have considered the reports in detail and noted the fact that Mr. Marler deeply regretted what he had said and had immediately and unprompted apologised to Mr. Lee at half time. They also noted that Head Coach of England Eddie Jones had reprimanded “Mr. Marler and reminded him of his responsibilities as an International Rugby Player.

“Six Nations Rugby have accepted the explanation provided that the comment was one made in the heat of the moment.

“Having taken all the facts into account no further disciplinary action will be taken. Six Nations Rugby consider that this matter is now closed.

Follow Me