Scotland Team Named For Six Nations Opener With Wales

Three days and counting.

Head Coach Gregor Townsend has made six changes to the Scotland team that started against Australia in November for this Saturday’s NatWest 6 Nations opener against Wales at the Principality Stadium.

Glasgow Warriors full-back Stuart Hogg and Newcastle Falcons centre Chris Harris are the two changes to the backline, while Gordon Reid, Jon Welsh, Ben Toolis and Cornell du Preez come into the starting pack.

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend, said:

“We’ve selected a squad that we believe can start the NatWest 6 Nations championship with the intensity and speed required to win in Cardiff.

“Last year’s championship highlighted that every game is a fierce competition and that all teams have to play at their very best to win away from home. Delivering that level of performance has been firmly in our thoughts during our preparations this week.

“We’re expecting a really physical game against a very good team. Wales have one of the best defences in the game and an attack that sees forwards passing much more and a structure that enables backs to get on ball.

“I’m sure it’ll be great occasion to kick off this year’s championship and we can’t wait to get started.”

Scotland team to play Wales

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 55 caps
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 39 caps
13. Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 1 cap
12. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 11 caps
11. Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 2 caps
10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 11 caps

1. Gordon Reid (London Irish) – 27 caps
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 12 caps
3. Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons) – 11 caps
4. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 7 caps
5. Jonny Gray VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets) – 66 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 15 caps
8. Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps

16. Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons) – 46 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps
18. Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
19. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 18 caps
20. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps
21. Greig Laidlaw (ASM Clermont Auvergne) – 58 caps
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
23. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 29 caps

Follow Me