Scotland Team Named For Six Nations Clash With England

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Head Coach Gregor Townsend has reselected the starting line-up from Scotland’s round two win over France for this Saturday’s Calcutta Cup clash with England at BT Murrayfield Stadium.

There are, however, three changes to the bench with fit-again prop Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) and lock Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – both of whom returned to the squad this week – named among the replacements in place of Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons) and Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby).

Centre Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors) is the only change among the backs replacements.

 “The players put a huge amount of effort into our win over France. They found a way to win and kept attacking the opposition up until the final whistle.” Townsend said

“England are the number two side in the world and have shown a very good level of consistency in the past couple of seasons. This is due to the quality of their playing and coaching staff, who have done a tremendous job.”

“They have a very good defence, an excellent set-piece and like to get 10 and 12 on the ball as much as possible in attack. Taking on England is going to be a huge challenge and we are well aware that only our very best will be good enough in this fixture.”

“As always our supporters will play a vital role throughout the match and we’re delighted to be back at BT Murrayfield with the backing of our home fans.”

Scotland team to play England

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
12. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens)
10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors)
9. Greig Laidlaw VICE CAPTAIN (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

1. Gordon Reid (London Irish)
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby)
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby)
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby)
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets)
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby)
8. Ryan Wilson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors)

16. Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons)
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
18. Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby)
19. Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors)
20. David Denton (Worcester Warriors)
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
22. Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)
23. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)

Follow Me