Saracens Are Two Wins Away From Matching Munster’s European Record


Champions Cup & Premiership holders Saracens are just two wins away from equalling a famous Munster milestone.

The southern province set a  record of 13 successive tournament victories set between 2005 and 2007, which included them lifting the trophy for the first time in their storied history back in 2006.

Mark McCall’s men haven’t lost in Europe since they were beaten 13-9 by ASM Clermont Auvergne in the 2015 semi-final at Stade Geoffrey Guichard. They became the first side to win all nine matches in one season to take the title last season.

Since then they have opened up with wins over RC Toulon and Scarlets this season and now face back-to-back clashes with fellow Aviva Premiership side Sale Sharks.


Peter Stringer was part of that famous Munster side, but is now part of the Sale side who will be looking to stop Saracens.

The Munster 13 match winning streak was as follows:

2005: P1 bt Castres Olympique 42-16 (h); P1 bt NG Dragons 24-8 (a); P1 bt NG Dragons 30-18 (h)
2006: P1 bt Castres Olympique 46-9 (a); P1 bt Sale Sharks 31-9 (h); QF bt Perpignan 19-10 (h); SF bt Lenster Rugby 30-6 (Lansdowne Road); Final bt Biarritz Olympique 23-19 (Millennium Stadium); P4 bt Leicester Tigers 21-19 (a); P4 bt Bourgoin 41-23 (h); P4 bt Cardiff Blues 22-12 (a); P4 bt Cardiff Blues 32-18 (h)
2007: P4 bt Bourgoin 30-27 (a)


The Saracens 11 match winning streak to date is:

2015: P1 bt Toulouse 32-7 (h); P1 bt Ulster Rugby 27-9 (a); P1 bt Oyonnax 45-10 (a); P1 bt Oyonnax 55-13 (h)
2016: P1 bt Ulster Rugby 33-17 (h); P1 bt Toulouse 28-17 (a); QF bt Northampton Saints 29-20 (h); SF bt Wasps (24-17 (Madejski Stadium); Final bt Racing 92 21-9 (Grand Stade de Lyon); P4 bt RC Toulon (a); P4 bt Scarlets (h)

Can Saracens match Munster’s record, or better yet, beat it? Peter Stringer and his Sale side will no doubt be out to make sure that doesn’t happen.


Follow Me