Robbie Henshaw Discusses His Thinking Behind Entering Maul On Friday

“It was just me not knowing the rules and obviously we suffered as a result.”

Robbie Henshaw has openly admitted that Friday’s maul error was a result of his ignorance of the rules and has put his hands up that it was a massive error of judgement on his part.

A penalty was given against the inside centre late in Friday night’s defeat to Wales, that cost Ireland what looked like a certain try.

A very special British & Irish Lions House of Rugby show – fronted by Sean O'Brien and Alex Goode – will start on June 25 and run for the duration of the Lions Tour. Follow and subscribe to it HERE

Henshaw joined the maul ahead of ball carrier Rory Best with Ireland moving over the tryline and referee Wayne Barnes correctly gave a crucial penalty to Wales.

“My entry wasn’t the best, instead of coming in from the side I should have come from behind and I got that wrong,” said Henshaw.
“It was just me not knowing the rules and obviously we suffered as a result.
“I thought it was turning, so I thought he [Best] was going to break out and I was potentially going to latch on to him and help him drive over.
“It was just one of those calls where I came it quite fast as well, so I didn’t really have time to re-adjust. I’ve put my hand up anyway, it was a mistake.”