Referee Pascal Gauzere Makes Huge Admission Regarding Wales’ Tries Vs England
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- Nigel Owens Posts Absolutely Fantastic Message Ahead Of The Second Lions Vs Springboks Test - July 31, 2021
- “He Gives You A Huge Amount Of Confidence” – Hogg On The Lions Leader That Has Impressed Him - July 30, 2021
- “You Can Keep Poking The Bear, Mate” – Stuart Hogg Responds To Rassie’s Video - July 30, 2021
Got it wrong.
Referee Pascal Gauzere has admitted that he was wrong to award Wales two controversial tries in their Six Nations win over England at the weekend.
Both Josh Adams’ opening try and as well as Wales’ second try scored by Liam Williams should not have stood.
The admission comes via World Rugby’s Head of Match Officials Joel Jutge who spoke to French publication Midi Olympique, with Gauzere putting his hand up and realising he was wrong in both instances.
Jutge said he does not want things to drag out and wants complete transparency, revealing that he spoke to Gauzere on the phone after the game.
“I believe one has to be transparent and not let things drag on and say what one thinks. There were two unfortunate events during the match which were tough cases to handle. Pascal Gauzere recognised as such when he spoke to me on the phone,” Jutge said.
In relation to the first try, Jutge explained that it was Gauzere’s responsibility to ensure England were ready before Biggar launched his crossfield kick, having been the one to tell captain Owen Farrell to speak to his players.
“From the moment when the referee says ‘time on’ the game can recommence,” Jutge said.
“Except that it was on him to make sure the English had had material time to reorganise themselves, because it was him who had asked the captain to speak to his players.”
In relation to the second try and apparent knock-on from Louis Rees-Zammit, Gauzere once again admitted he made a mistake in awarding the try.
“With regard to the second try, I think there is a tendency to refer to the TMO too often when one can make the call oneself on the pitch and stick with it which if Pascal had whistled for a knock-on there would have been no appeal by the TMO to review it,” Jutge added.
“Pascal was the first to admit to this when he re-watched the match on Sunday. When one commits an error one should be transparent about it. Despite this he is still an excellent international referee.”