Rassie Erasmus Makes A Couple Of Huge Recalls In Springboks Training Squad


Springboks boss Rassie Erasmus has named a 26-man training squad as South Africa get set to begin their preparations for the Rugby Championship.

Ulster back-row Marcell Coetezee has been handed a lifeline by Erasmus after a stellar return season in the PRO14. Coetezee appears to have finally gotten over his injury nightmare making 23 appearances last term and starting all seven of Ulster’s European games.

Elsewhere there’s also a shock recall for Montpellier’s Frans Steyn – the only South African remaining from the Springboks’ 2007 Rugby World Cup winning squad.

Erasmus’ panel will now convene in Pretoria to begin preparations for their Rugby Championship opener against Australia on 20 July.

South Africa squad:

Schalk Brits (Bulls), Marcell Coetzee (Ulster), Lood de Jager (Bulls), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Rynardt Elstadt (Toulouse), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Vincent Koch (Saracens), Siya Kolisi (Stormers), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Franco Mostert (Gloucester), Marvin Orie (Lions), Kwagga Smith (Lions).

Damian de Allende (Stormers), Faf de Klerk (Sale), Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Herschel Jantjies (Stormers), Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse), Dillyn Lleyds (Stormers), Willie le Roux (Verblitz), Cobus Reinach (Northampton), Frans Steyn (Montpellier).

Follow Me