Player Ratings As Ireland Get Their World Cup Back On Track With Russia Win

Job done?

Ireland got their Rugby World Cup campaign back on track to a certain extent this morning with a 35-0 win over Russia in Pool A.

Tries from Rob Kearney (1′), Peter O’Mahony (12′), Rhys Ruddock (34′), Andrew Conway (61′) and Garry Ringrose (75′) ensured a bonus-point win leaving Ireland in pole position for a quarter-final spot.

But to be honest it was a scrappy win and going forward you’d still be worried. Yes, the bonus-point win was delivered but the overall performance wasn’t where it should.  

Here are your player ratings.

15. Rob Kearney – 7
Scored Ireland’s first try after just 91 seconds. Big improvement on the Japan game.

14. Andrew Conway – 8
Always looked a threat. One of Ireland’s best players at the Worl Cup so far, deserves more minutes.

13. Garry Ringrose – 6
Looks like a man that has played far too many minutes over the last few weeks.

12. Bundee Aki – 5
Just not his day. A lot of dropped balls.

11. Keith Earls – 7
Another solid game from the Limerick man.

10. Jonathan Sexton (c) – 7.5
Back pulling the strings at 10. An important 40+ mins for him.

9. Luke McGrath – 6
Played the full 80 and looked threatening at times but missed some big tackles.

1. Dave Kilcoyne – 8
Some massive carries in another superb performance.

2. Niall Scannell – 5.5
Big fumble that cost a try but lineout was good.

3. John Ryan – 7
Good solid game from the tighthead

4. Tadhg Beirne – 7.5
One of the better performances. Carried well and got stuck in.

5. Jean Kleyn – 5.5
Not the best of World Cup debuts for the Munster lock. Sloppy at times.

6. Rhys Ruddock – 9
Best player on the pitch. Some massive carries.

7. Peter O’Mahony – 7
Some impressive steals. Another good hit out even though he was out of position to an extent.

8. Jordi Murphy – 6
Game ended after just 28 minutes with a rib injury. So unlucky.

Replacements: – 5
No real standout performances here.

16. Sean Cronin
17. Andrew Porter
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Iain Henderson
20. CJ Stander
21. Conor Murray
22. Jack Carty
23. Jordan Larmour

Follow Me