Owen Farrell Somehow Gets Away With Needless Late Hit On Italian Scrumhalf
Latest posts by Will Matthews (see all)
- Steve Hansen hails Irish player as the ‘probably the best he’s ever seen’ - September 28, 2023
- Ref mic picks up brilliant clip of Johnny Sexton chatting to Ben O’Keefe - September 28, 2023
- Virimi Vakawata signs for Premiership club in STUNNING return to rugby - September 27, 2023
“He doesn’t need to hit Varney there.”
England captain Owen Farrell is once again the talk of social media after the 29-year-old somehow escaped punishment this afternoon following a late and needless hit on Italian scrumhalf Stephen Varney.
With the Azzuri in an excellent attacking position and trailing England by just 9 points, Farrell took the nine out late and off the ball, resulting in him missing out on a crucial period of play.
Shortly after Anthony Watson intercepted and ran almost the length of the pitch to score England’s fourth try and give them a 25-11 lead, crushing any hope the Italians might have had.
TMO Joy Neville called the play back but referee Mike Adamson decided because there was no “head contact” it wasn’t deemed foul play, despite the fact that it is clearly still an illegal hit. A shocking decision. Check it out yourself below.
"He doesn't need to hit Varney there!"
— Virgin Media Sport (@VMSportIE) February 13, 2021