Nominees Announced For World Rugby Team & Coach Of The Year

The best of the best.

The nominees have officially been announced for World Rugby Team and Coach of the Year 2019.

All four teams and their coaches that reached the Rugby World Cup 2019 semi-finals have all made the shortlists, along with host nation Japan who, under the guidance of Jamie Joseph, inspired a nation and captured hearts around the world on the way to a first-ever quarter-final appearance.

Japan, England, South Africa, Wales and the All Blacks have all been nominated for Team of the Year.

Japan’s Jamie Joseph, England’s Eddie Jones, South Africa’s Rassie Erasmus, Wales’ Warren Gatland and New Zealand’s Steve Hansen meanwhile have all been nominated for Coach of the Year.

The shortlists were selected by a panel comprising former international players Maggie Alphonsi, Brian O’Driscoll and Agustín Pichot, alongside former coaches Nick Mallett and Clive Woodward, the World Rugby Coach of the Year in 2003 after guiding England to Rugby World Cup glory in Sydney.

The winners of both awards will be announced on 3 November at the #WorldRugbyAwards in Tokyo.

Follow Me