Nigel Owens has his say on controversial missed Italy penalty

So close.

Italy shocked the rugby world on Sunday when they pushed France all the way in Round 3 of the Six Nations, drawing 13-13 with Les Blues away from home.

Despite this historic result, the Azzurri will probably be feeling quite dejected as they missed a chance to win the contest with the last kick of the game, only for Paolo Garbisi to hit the post with his effort.

There was also some controversy with the penalty after France back-row Francois Cros attempted to charge down the kick with 15 seconds remaining on the shot clock after the ball fell off the tee.

Referee Christophe Ridley sent back Cros before Garbisi rushed the reset and kicked the penalty but, just as he did that, Sebastien Taofifenua started to charge at the Italian playmaker.

Rugby writer Paul Williams posed an important question following the charge to which Nigel Owens responded…

Paul Williams: “I didn’t think you were allowed to charge a pen. Even if the ball falls off the tee? Or is it classed as having moved, therefore in play?”

Nigel Owens: “You can’t charge a PK until he has made contact with the ball.”

It looks like poor Italy were robbed.

Follow Me