Munster & Ulster Name Teams For Inter-Pro Clash In Belfast

Derby day.

Munster and Ulster have both named their teams for their New Year’s Day inter-provincial clash at the Kingspan Stadium in Belfast.

As expected, Munster head coach Johann van Graan has named a much-changed side. In making 11 changes to the XV that suffered defeat to Leinster in Thomond Park four days ago James Cronin, Niall Scannell and John Ryan start together in the front row for the first time this season.

The likes of Calvin Nash, Duncan Williams and Keith Earls all come into the backline, with Ronan O’Mahony set to make his first appearance of the season from the bench, after recovering from injury.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Keith Earls, Sammy Arnold, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Darren O’Shea, Billy Holland (c); Tommy O’Donnell, Chris Cloete, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Rory Loughman, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Robin Copeland, James Hart, Bill Johnston, Ronan O’Mahony.

For Ulster, Rob Herring has recovered from concussion and will captain the side for the Guinness PRO14 tie. Rodney Ah You (wrist) and Kyle McCall (shoulder) have returned from two-month injury lay-offs and will join their skipper in the front row.

Jean Deysel, who has also been out of action for over two months, is named at number 8, with Les Kiss naming a strong backline that contains the likes of John Cooney, Christian Lealiifano, Charles Piutau and Stuart McCloskey.

Ulster: Charles Piutau; Craig Gilroy, Louis Ludik, Stuart McCloskey, Rob Lyttle; Christian Lealiifano, John Cooney, Kyle McCall, Rob Herring (captain), Rodney Ah You, Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell, Greg Jones, Nick Timoney, Jean Deysel

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Callum Black, Wiehahn Herbst, Robbie Diack, Matthew Rea, Paul Marshall, Johnny McPhillips, Andrew Trimble.

Follow Me