Munster Team Named For PRO14 Opener With Treviso

Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus has named his side for Munster’s Guinness PRO14 opener against Treviso.

Just two changes are made to the side that defeated Worcester Warriors in preseason action last week, academy flanker Sean O’Connor coming into the back row to make his first PRO14 appearance and returning international Andrew Conway joining the back-three at full back.

Retaining his starting spot after an impressive showing in preseason, loosehead Liam O’Connor is the second academy player to make his first start and packs down alongside Rhys Marshall and Stephen Archer.

Named on the bench, long term injury returnee Mike Sherry could play his first competitive game since May 2016, with James Hart and Ciaran Parker in line for PRO14 debuts.

Munster: Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Jaco Taute, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal – capt., Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Sean O’Connor, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Brian Scott, Ciaran Parker, Fineen Wycherley, Robin Copeland, James Hart, Ian Keatley, Dan Goggin.

Follow Me