Munster Team Named For Champions Cup Showdown With Saracens In Thomond Park

Heavyweight clash.

Head coach Johann van Graan has named his Munster team for this weekend’s Champions Cup pool clash with holders Saracens in Thomond Park.

Peter O’Mahony captains Munster with 14 changes to the team that faced Edinburgh last weekend. Stephen Archer, who made his 200th Munster appearance last week, is the only player to retain his place.

Mike Haley, Andrew Conway and Keith Earls make up an exciting back-three with Rory Scannell and Chris Farrell renewing their centre partnership. Conor Murray and JJ Hanrahan are named in the half-backs.

James Cronin, Niall Scannell and Archer pack down in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland in the second-row. Tadhg Beirne starts in the back row as O’Mahony moves to openside flanker and CJ Stander starts at no.8.

Nick McCarthy is named among the replacements and is set to make his first Champions Cup appearance for Munster.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, John Ryan, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Nick McCarthy, Sammy Arnold, Arno Botha.

Follow Me