Munster Name Heineken Cup Squad

James Cronin will look to make his European Debut this year following his inclusion in the 38 man squad for the 2013/14 Heineken Cup.

Joining Cronin is scrum half Cathal Sheridan, a late inclusion last season, and development hooker Duncan Casey. The uncapped Casey was named in last year’s panel but like Cronin and Sheridan has yet to make an appearance at European level.

Fellow development hooker Niall Scannell has also been named, who is included in his first Heineken Cup squad along with CJ StanderRonan O’MahonyIan NagleAlan Cotter andAndrew Conway.

Tommy O’Donnell has been omitted following reports than his injury could keep him unavailable for up to three months.

Other notable absentees from the 38 man squad are Luke O’Dea who is recovering from a wrist injury and Gerhard van den Heever, the South African who is set to join Munster at the conclusion of the Currie Cup in November, subject to being granted a work permit.

Munster may register up to two additional players during the pool stage, each to replace a player previously registered, and if two additional players are selected one such player must be front row cover.

Munster Heineken Cup Squad: Denis Hurley, Felix Jones, Simon Zebo, Keith Earls, Ronan O’Mahony, James Downey, Johne Murphy, Casey Laulala Ivan Dineen, Andrew Conway, Ian Keatley, JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray, Cathal Sheridan, Duncan Williams.
Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Alan Cotter, James Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, Duncan Casey, Mike Sherry, Damien Varley, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Ian Nagle, Dave O’Callaghan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Donnacha Ryan, Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Ronan, CJ Stander, James Coughlan.

Follow Me