Munster & Leinster Name Their Teams For Rainbow Cup Clash At The RDS


Munster and Leinster have named their teams for this weekend’s Rainbow Cup meeting at the RDS between the two Irish provinces.

Captain Peter O’Mahony returns for Munster having recovered from a thigh injury with fellow Ireland international Shane Daly also slotting into the starting XV.

With seven changes to the squad that faced Toulouse in the Champions Cup last time out, Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, Ben Healy and Calvin Nash are named among the replacements.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Keith Earls and Daly on either flank. Damian de Allende and Chris Farrell form the centre partnership with Conor Murray and Joey Carbery in the half-backs.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne in the engine room. O’Mahony, Jack O’Donoghue and CJ Stander complete the starting XV.

Munster: Mike Haley; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Shane Daly; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, Fineen Wycherley, Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Calvin Nash.

There is a welcome return from injury for a number of players for Leinster with Garry Ringrose one of those returning after an ankle injury and leading the side out at the RDS Arena.

Jordan Larmour is selected at fullback, with Dave Kearney on the right wing and James Lowe on the left. In the centre, Rory O’Loughlin moves to the number 12 jersey, with Ringrose as captain outside him.

In the half-backs, Hugh O’Sullivan starts at scrumhalf with Harry Byrne at outhalf. In the pack, Ed Byrne, Dan Sheehan, and Andrew Porter are the front row for Cullen’s side, with Ross Molony and Ryan Baird in the second row.

Finally, the back row sees Josh Murphy and Scott Penny on the flanks with Penny back from a hand injury and the fit-again Caelan Doris at number eight.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Jordan Larmour (56)
14. Dave Kearney (166)
13. Garry Ringrose (80) CAPTAIN
12. Rory O’Loughlin (81)
11. James Lowe (50)
10. Harry Byrne (22)
9. Hugh O’Sullivan (29)

1. Ed Byrne (66)
2. Dan Sheehan (10)
3. Andrew Porter (73)
4. Ross Molony (113)
5. Ryan Baird (21)
6. Josh Murphy (45)
7. Scott Penny (25)
8. Caelan Doris (37)

16. Seán Cronin (193)
17. Peter Dooley (90)
18. Michael Bent (155)
19. James Ryan (45)
20. Scott Fardy (76)
21. Cormac Foley (0)
22. Ciarán Frawley (34)
23. Tommy O’Brien (7)

Follow Me