Match Officials Announced For Six Nations Ahead Of Rugby World Cup Selection

Match officials.

World Rugby has today announced a team of 14 referees, six assistant referees and seven Television Match Officials (TMOs) who will take charge of the Guinness Six Nations Championship matches in February and March 2019.

The highly anticipated Guinness Six Nations Championship gets under way on 1 February 2019 when France face Wales in Paris with England’s Wayne Barnes refereeing the opening encounter.

Reigning champions and current world number two Ireland kick off the following day against England in Dublin with Jerome Garces of France selected to referee the match.

The group of 14 referees selected for the Guinness Six Nations Championship come from six unions, including four French officials (Jerome Garces, Romain Poite, Mathieu Raynal and Pascal Gauzere), three from England (Wayne Barnes, Luke Pearce and Matthew Carley), three New Zealanders (Glen Jackson, Ben O’Keefe and Paul Williams).

Angus Gardner, recently announced World Rugby Referee of the Year for 2018, fellow Australian Nic Berry, Nigel Owens representing Wales and Jaco Peyper from South Africa complete the line-up. Berry is the only referee selected to take charge of two matches, he will oversee both France v Scotland and England v Italy.

With Rugby World Cup 2019 on the horizon, match official performances over the period will be taken into account when the World Rugby Match Officials Selection Committee meets at the end of March to make the appointments for rugby’s showcase event.

From the 14 referees participating in the Six Nations Championship, 12 will be selected to go to Rugby World Cup, along with seven assistant referees and four TMO’s. The match officials selected for the Rugby World Cup will participate in a preparation camp in Japan during the month of July to ensure they, like the players and teams, are fully primed for rugby’s greatest showpiece.

You can view the full list of Six Nations match officials here.

Follow Me