Lions Team Named For Auckland Blues Game

Jason Hennessy

Jason Hennessy

Jason is the editor here at RugbyLAD and a proud Limerick man.
Jason Hennessy

The British & Irish Lions team to play the Blues on Wednesday has been announced with Wales hooker Ken Owens captaining the side.

Owens will be one of 11 players making their British & Irish Lions debut at Eden Park after Head Coach Warren Gatland made 15 changes to the side that kicked off the 2017 Tour with a victory over New Zealand Provincial Barbarians on Saturday.

Commenting on the team to face Super Rugby side the Blues, Gatland said:

“We have made 15 changes to the starting XV and we are excited to see what this team is able to do against the Blues on Wednesday.
“We have stated from the off that we want to give every player a start in the first three games and Wednesday is an opportunity for this set of players to show what they can do in a Lions jersey.
“It was good to get the win under our belts last weekend. The boys in the stand were itching to get their chance and they are really excited about Wednesday.

Lions Team

15. Leigh Halfpenny – Toulon, Wales, #775
14. Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England
13. Jared Payne – Ulster, Ireland
12. Robbie Henshaw – Leinster, Ireland
11. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England
10. Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales
9. Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales, #820

1. Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland
2. Ken Owens (Capt) – Scarlets, Wales
3. Dan Cole Leicester Tigers, England, #794
4. Maro Itoje – Saracens, England
5. Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England
6. James Haskell – Wasps, England
7. Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales, #786
8. CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland

16. Rory Best – Ulster, Ireland, #793
17. Joe Marler – Harlequins, England, #811
18. Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England, #814
19. Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland, #808
20. Peter O’Mahony – Munster, Ireland
21. Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester, Scotland, #810
22. Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland, #791
23. Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales

Blues Team

15. Michael Collins
14. Matt Duffie
13. George Moala
12. Sonny Bill Williams/TJ Faiane
11. Rieko Ioane
10. Stephen Perofeta
9. Augustine Pulu

1. Ofa Tu’ungafasi
2. James Parsons (c)
3. Charlie Faumuina
4. Gerard Cowley-Tuioti
5. Scott Scrafton
6. Akira Ioane
7. Blake Gibson
8. Steven Luatua

16. Hame Faiva
17. Alex Hodgman
18. Sione Mafileo
19. Patrick Tuipulotu
20. Kara Pryor
21. Sam Nock
22. Ihaia West
23. TJ Faiane/Melani Nanai