Lions Legends McGeechan & Telfer Pick Five Irish Players In Their XV To Take On The Springboks


With Warren Gatland’s squad announcement just a week away, excitement for the British and Irish Lions tour is really starting to ramp up.

Gatland is expected to bring a squad of 36-men to South Africa as the Lions look to get their first series win against the Springboks since 1997.

Sir Ian McGeechan and Jim Telfer were the masterminds behind that win and the legendary duo have given their two cents on the Test squad they would pick this time round to take down the world champions.

Speaking on the BBC Scotland Rugby Podcast the two former coaches have gone with no fewer than five Irishmen in the starting XV with the likes of Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw and Tadhg Beirne all included.

Finn Russell is picked at 10 with the likes of Ken Owens, Alun Wyn Jones, and Maro Itoje also making their team. Have a look at their selection below and let us know what you think in the comments.


15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)
14. Anthony Watson (England)
13. Garry Ringrose (Ireland)
12. Robbie Henshaw (Ireland)
11. Liam Williams (Wales)
10. Finn Russell (Scotland)
9. Conor Murray (Ireland)

1. Wyn Jones (Wales)
2. Ken Owens (Wales)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)
4. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)
5. Maro Itoje (England)
6. Tadhg Beirne (Ireland)
7. Tom Curry (England)
8. Toby Faletau (Wales)

Follow Me