Leinster Team Named For PRO14 Clash With The Cheetahs


Head coach Leo Cullen has named his Leinster team for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 clash with the Cheetahs at the RDS Arena in Dublin.

Dave Kearney comes in at full back, with Adam Byrne also in on the right wing for his 50th cap. Fergus McFadden swaps across to the left for his own milestone and his 175th appearance in blue.

In the centre, Conor O’Brien moves inside to 12 with Rory O’Loughlin coming in to the number 13 jersey beside O’Brien. In the halfbacks Jamison Gibson-Park starts with Ross Byrne again selected at outhalf.

In the pack, it’s a new front row with Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne and Michael Bent starting. Ross Molony again starts but is joined this week by Scott Fardy in the second row.

In the back-row Rhys Ruddock has returned to full fitness from a hamstring injury to take his place as captain at blindside, with Max Deegan and Caelan Doris again completing the pack.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Dave Kearney (131)
14. Adam Byrne (49)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (57)
12. Conor O’Brien (14)
11. Fergus McFadden (174)
10. Ross Byrne (64)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (67)
1: Peter Dooley (58)
2: Bryan Byrne (36)
3: Michael Bent (117)
4: Ross Molony (80)
5: Scott Fardy (37)
6: Rhys Ruddock (155) CAPTAIN
7: Max Deegan (37)
8: Caelan Doris (11)

16: James Tracy (86)
17: Ed Byrne (37)
18: Andrew Porter (47)
19: Mick Kearney (47)
20: Josh Murphy (17)
21: Hugh O’Sullivan (10)
22: Noel Reid (116)
23: Barry Daly (32)

Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU)

Follow Me