Joe Schmidt Names Ireland Squad For Six Nations Clash With France

Joe Schmidt has named a reduced 34-man Ireland squad to face France in the Six Nations next weekend.

The Ireland boss has included Johnny Sexton in his squad, with a decision set to be made on his inclusion for the matchday squad set to be made on Tuesday.

Surprisingly Ultan Dillane has been omitted from the squad, with Connacht teammate Quinn Roux called up, while Leinster duo Jack Conan and Josh van der Flier have also been left out, with the latter picking up a shoulder injury while playing for Leinster the weekend.

Ian Keatley has been retained, in case Sexton doesn’t make it but his Munster teammates Billy Holland, Dave Kilcoyne and Rory Scannell have all been left out as has Ulster centre Stuart McCloskey.

Rob Kearney has also interestingly been retained, despite fears his Six Nations may be over.

34-man Ireland squad:


Forwards (17)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (c) 101 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 13 caps
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 64 caps
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vc) 93 caps
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 29 caps
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 1 cap
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 38 caps
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 46 caps
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 37 caps
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 1 cap
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster) 44 caps
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 3 cap
Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 1 cap
CJ Stander (Munster) 12 caps
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 44 caps
James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps

Backs (17)

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 68 caps
Andrew Conway (Munster) *
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 56 caps
Craig Gilroy (Bangor/Ulster) 10 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 26 caps
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 21 caps
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 74 caps
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 10 caps
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) 9 caps
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 1 cap
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 55 caps
Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
Jonathan Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 63 caps
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 69 caps
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 30 caps

*Denotes uncapped player

Follow Me