Irish Players’ Player & Young Player Of The Year Named Following Awards Show

Best in Ireland.

This evening, Leinster and Ireland’s Garry Ringrose was named the Zurich Players’ Player of the Year 2020 by his fellow players at the Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards ceremony, broadcast on Virgin Media Two.

Ringrose, who made his debut for Ireland in 2016, has enjoyed a remarkably consistent season for both club and country.

Though Ireland failed to put their stamp on proceedings in Japan, Ringrose was nevertheless one of Ireland’s best performers at the World Cup and he has continued to lead by example on both sides of the lockdown, prompting his recent appointment as captain for Leinster’s Guinness PRO14 final victory over Ulster.

Ringrose (25), wins the award ahead of Andrew Conway, John Cooney and James Lowe.

On receiving his award, Ringrose commented:

“It has been a challenging season on and off the pitch, but we have all continued to work hard and learned a great deal from the experience.

“It has been a long year so to be recognised in this way by my fellow players means a lot to me. Andrew, John and James were equally deserving.

“My sincerest thanks to my family and friends for their continued support and also to those who have made the return to rugby possible.”

Meanwhile, Ringrose’s club and international teammate Caelan Doris was named as the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year 2020. The 22-year-old, who made his Irish debut in February, has also established himself in a highly competitive back-row department at Leinster Rugby.

In claiming the award, Doris was voted in ahead of strong competition in the form of Ryan Baird and Shane Daly.

The Irish Women’s XVs Player of the Year 2020 as voted by members of the Ireland squad was presented to Wasps Ladies’ Cliodhna Moloney for several standout performances so far in their Guinness Six Nations campaign.

Meanwhile, retiring Irish 7s player Louise Galvin claimed the Irish Women’s 7s Player of the Year, while the Men’s World Series’ top try scorer Jordan Conroy picked up the Irish Men’s 7s Player of the Year.

As had been announced earlier in the week, joining Ireland’s heroes in the Rugby Players Ireland Hall of Fame was former Ireland, Leinster and Lions centre Gordon D’Arcy.

D’Arcy’s former Leinster teammate Andrew Conway was awarded Try of the Year for his outstanding effort away to the Ospreys in the Heineken Champions Cup for Munster.

The Zurich Contribution to Irish Society award was presented to Billy Holland in recognition of his fundraising efforts in support of Crumlin Children’s Hospital, Cork University Hospital and Ronald McDonald House, to the lasting memory of his late daughter Emmeline.

Follow Me