Ireland Team Named For Aviva Stadium Clash With Japan On Saturday

Back in action.

Ireland boss Andy Farrell has named his team to take on Japan at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday as the men in green look to exact revenge on their shock Rugby World Cup defeat to the Brave Blossoms back in 2019.

James Ryan will wear the captain’s armband on Saturday and will be partnered in the second row by Ultan Dillane. Peter O’Mahony starts on the blindside flank and is joined in the back-row by Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris, who makes his international return after missing the 2021 Six Nations Championships.

The front row is made up of Dave Kilcoyne, Ronan Kelleher and Finlay Bealham.

At half-back Jamison Gibson Park will partner Joey Carbery who returns to the international scene for the first time since the Rugby World Cup in 2019. Stuart McCloskey and Chris Farrell are paired in midfield while Jacob Stockdale and Jordan Larmour on the wings and Hugo Keenan is at fullback.

The replacements include Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, John Ryan, Ryan Baird, the uncapped Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Billy Burns and Shane Daly.

Last weekend Jamie Joseph’s Brave Blossoms made the British and Irish Lions work hard for their 28-10 victory in Murrayfield.

Five Ireland players – Chris Farrell, Jacob Stockdale, Josh van der Flier, Peter O’Mahony and James Ryan started against Japan in the last encounter between the two sides at the 2019 Rugby World Cup with Dave Kilcoyne, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour featuring off the bench that day in Shizuoka.

The match will be televised by RTE (ROI) Channel 4 (NI) and kicks off at 1.00pm.

Ireland team to play Japan – 3rd July 2021, Aviva Stadium

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Jordan Larmour
13. Chris Farrell
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Joey Carbery
9. Jamison Gibson Park
1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Ronan Kelleher
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Ultan Dillane
5. James Ryan (c)
6. Peter O’Mahony
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Caelan Doris

16. Rob Herring
17. Ed Byrne
18. John Ryan
19. Ryan Baird
20. Gavin Coombes
21. Craig Casey
22. Billy Burns
23. Shane Daly

Follow Me