Ireland team named for RWC quarter-final clash with the All Blacks

The big one.

Andy Farrell has named his Ireland team for this weekend’s crucial Rugby World Cup quarter-final clash with New Zealand in Paris.

The Ireland head coach has named an unchanged starting team from last weekend’s victory over Scotland with Mack Hansen passed fit. James Ryan misses out through injury with Joe McCarthy coming onto the bench.

Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen and James Lowe continue in the back three, with Garry Ringrose and Bundee Aki retained in midfield. Captain Johnny Sexton and Jamison Gibson-Park once again form the half-back pairing.

In the pack, Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong are in the front row, as Tadhg Beirne partners Iain Henderson in the engine room. Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris complete the Ireland starting team.

On the bench, Ronan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Joe McCarthy and Jack Conan provide the reinforcements in the pack, with Conor Murray, Jack Crowley and Jimmy O’Brien – in line for his Rugby World Cup debut – completing the match day 23.

Saturday’s match is live on Virgin Media One in the Republic of Ireland and ITV1 in the United Kingdom.

Ireland team vs New Zealand

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Mack Hansen
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton (c)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Andrew Porter
2. Dan Sheehan
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Tadhg Beirne
5. Iain Henderson
6. Peter O’Mahony
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Caelan Doris


16. Ronan Kelleher
17. David Kilcoyne
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Joe McCarthy
20. Jack Conan
21. Conor Murray
22. Jack Crowley
23. Jimmy O’Brien

Follow Me