Ireland Legend Set To Be Inducted Into Rugby Players Ireland Hall Of Fame

Former Ireland and Leicester Tigers fullback Geordan Murphy is set to be inducted in the Rugby Players Ireland Hall of Fame.

Voted for by the past-player body, Murphy joins the likes of Keith Wood (2004), Anthony Foley (2009) and Denis Hickie (2013) in an illustrious list of previous inductees. The award, which will be presented at the Rugby Players Ireland Awards night on May 10th at the Clayton Hotel on the Burlington Road, was last year won by Ronan O’Gara.

Murphy amassed 74 caps for Ireland over an eleven-year period in an illustrious career.. During this time, he played a part in the Grand Slam success of 2009 whilst he also travelled with the British & Irish Lions to New Zealand in 2005. He is also the most decorated player in Leicester Tigers history, where he now works as assistant coach.

Upon hearing of his induction, Murphy said:

“It is a great honour and privilege for me to be recognised by the rugby community in Ireland. While I have spent the majority of my career abroad, my home has always been very special to me. I always enjoyed returning to Lansdowne Road and lining out alongside many of those who I now join in the Hall of Fame. I will always treasure those memories.”


Simon Best (2014)

Peter Clohessy (2003)

Victor Costello (2006)

Jeremy Davidson (2005)

Girvan Dempsey (2010)

Eric Elwood (2005)

Anthony Foley (2009)

Mick Galwey (2003)

John Hayes (2012)

Denis Hickie (2013)

David Humphreys (2008)

Paddy Johns (2004)

Ronan O’Gara (2016)

Malcolm O’Kelly (2010)

David Wallace (2015)

Keith Wood (2004)

[Rugby Players Ireland]

Follow Me