Huge Controversy As Questionable Penalty Against Australia Proves Costly
Latest posts by Jason Hennessy (see all)
- Ireland Issue Squad Update Ahead Of Crucial Six Nations Clash With France - October 26, 2020
- Peter O’Mahony Channels His Inner Sonny Bill Williams With Stunning Offload for Aki Try - October 24, 2020
- Brian O’Driscoll – “[His] Pass Is The Best Pass In Ireland. He Is Someone That Exudes A Calmness.” - October 23, 2020
Wales currently lead Australia 23-8 in an incredible Rugby World Cup pool encounter – but the game has not been without controversy.
Referee Roman Poite has done his best to keep control of both sides, but many feel he got a decision wrong against Wallaby Samuel Kerevi that could ultimately prove to be very costly for Australia.
The centre was penalised late in the second-half for leading with his forearm in contact on Rhys Patchell in contact, with Aussie captain Michael Hooper getting into a big argument with the referee.
“That’s just terrible tackle technique … we can’t carry if that’s going to be the ruling” Hooper said.
Wales bagged three points from the penalty and scored a converted try from an intercept shortly after the restart.
Have a look below. What do you think? Penalty or not?
— 10 Sport (@10SportAU) September 29, 2019
What is Kerevi supposed to do when carrying the ball? #AUSvWAL Tackle technique is poor from Patchell.
— Tom May (@TomMay1) September 29, 2019
He’s having a solid game. Kerevi for me isn’t even a penalty #AUSvWAL
— ugo monye (@ugomonye) September 29, 2019