Here’s How The Proposed New PRO14 Structure Will Apparently Look

Will it work?

An announcement from PRO12 organisers that two South African franchises are set to join the competition ahead of the new season is said to be imminent. The two teams in question are the Southern Kings and the Cheetahs, who recently revoked their Super Rugby status.

A new PRO14 is set to be launched, with a new format consisting of two conferences. From what we can gather, here is the apparent new proposed structure.

Based on last season’s standings, the 14 teams will be split as follows:

Conference A: Munster, Scarlets, Ulster, Cardiff Blues, Edinburgh, Zebre, Cheetahs or Southern Kings
Conference B: Leinster, Ospreys, Glasgow Warriors, Connacht, Treviso, Dragons, Cheetahs or Southern Kings

Each section is limited to no more than two teams from the same country. Teams in the same conference will play each other home and away, with additional one-off matches against the seven in the other conference, bringing the total games to 21.

Play-offs will then follow to determine the winner.

Follow Me